We’re going to Brazil!!

Well, OK, I’m not.  I can barely make it to the next big city let alone South America, but Team USA is going to the World Cup next summer!  By beating Mexico on Tuesday night we secured a spot in the tournament.  

If you are not already a soccer fan, you might not get the enormity of this news.  We are the underdogs.  Soccer is becoming more popular in the U.S., but compared the the rest of the world, the money and fan backing is still pretty small.  However, it is growing quickly. 

A few weeks ago I posted my guide to watching soccer (with lots of photos).  Today will be my guide to specifically watching team USA.  Here’s a few of the players I’ll be watching for:

Mix Diskerud                       Michael Parkhurst                         Matt Besler               Graham Zusi

 I’m sure they all have mad soccer skills, but hey, let’s face it, I’m cheering for the combo of eye candy and soccer playing.  

And there might be more on the way.  Our former team captain, Carlos Bocanegra, may still be added to the roster.  Some legal mumbo jumbo, contract something or other is keeping him off the roster right now.  This needs to be settled, because . . .

So, it may seem a little early to you, but I am ready to start getting my fan on.  We’ve got a few options for fan fashion styles.  

Option A                                           Option B

If you look a lot like the players on the field, then I suggest option A.  It’s minimal, but it works.  If you look a little more like fat Elvis, by all means, think about option B.  Out of sheer excitement I have started to create option C – cute tee shirts.  I created them on Spreadshirt.com.  Click on the shirt below to see both of my designs and my Spreadshirt shop.  (more tees to come, so check back often!)

13461511-107769842


Leave a Reply

