#My5percent (Or how I choose agency and love.)

Last week I wrote a post with suggestions on ways to feel less lost after the election results. To say I felt shell-shocked is an understatement. I can’t say I was dying for Hillary to be my President but I was dying for Trump not to be. Now he is, so I have to deal with it.

What I can’t do is deal with it by sitting around kvetching and spreading gloom and doom theories about what worst case scenario might happen. I don’t know for sure what the next four years will look like but I do know that there are some fantastic groups that will need additional support because they are likely to be low or nonexistent on the Trump agenda. So, today I’m starting to do #My5percent. I’m going to give 5% of my company’s income to a charity and dedicate 5% of my time to one. It’s one of those commitments that alone is small but if others join it, it could make a huge difference. It is also my way of making my life about action and agency–feeling like I have a say in the direction I go in.

The group I’ve chosen for my 5% donation is Planned Parenthood. I do have fears of thousands of women not having access to birth control and cancer screenings. If Obamacare is repealed, this will certainly be the case. Planned Parenthood will be more vital than ever to low income females for their reproductive healthcare. I will be giving 5% of my gross as KarenGordonAuthor to Planned Parenthood.

The other group that I’m giving 5% of my time to is The Girl Scouts. I love this organization. My mom was a girl scout well into her 60’s. They are smart and inclusive and a fantastic place for young girls to learn skills and make connections that will help them become great future leaders. And…there’s the cookies. I’ll be contacting the local chapter to see how I can be of service. Based on a typical 40 hour work week, I want to dedicate at least one day a month to them (5%). Even with my busy schedule, that is very doable.

I’d love for more to join me. Volunteering is one of the best ways to feel like you have some control, like you are making a difference. If you decide to join in, please share your #my5percent commitment in the comments or use the hashtag. I’d love to see more women on social media showing that we have the power to create the world we want to live in.

Leave a Reply

